Copyright © 2018 Laingsburg Business & Community Association. All rights reserved.
Where the city and the country meet.
HISTORY OF LAINGSBURG
1600's- The Native American village of Wassololo was located exactly where Laingsburg now stands. It is unclear what happened to this Chippewa village.
1836- Laingsburg was founded and named after Dr. Peter Laing, one of the town's early settlers and entrepreneurs. At the corner of Fenner Road and Grand River Road, Peter built a tavern. Other taverns and hotels followed.
1841- A post office was opened, and the town was named Nebraska.
1860- Town was named Laingsburg again, when the Jackson, Lansing & Northern Railroad (later Michigan Central), came through the area.
1871- Laingsburg was officially incorporated as a village.
1951- Laingsburg was officially incorporated as a city.
The main street running through Laingsburg was originally a trail, more or less, following the Looking Glass River and eventually becoming a busy stage route that was one of the main routes stretching across Michigan. This was the main route between Pontiac and Grand Rapids.
Today, our main street is one of Michigan's most beautiful historic roads, winding for miles, lined by ancient maple, oak, walnut and hickory trees planted long ago by unknown hands. It passes through many small, unique towns all historically connected together by Grand River (also known in some areas as Round Lake Road).
Located on the western border of Shiawassee County and Clinton County, about 15 miles northeast of Michigan's capital city, is the growing city of Laingsburg.
Laingsburg is located in the center of a hub of metropolitan areas including Lansing, Flint, St. Johns, and Owosso and is supported by a growing local business base and resident commuters.
Located within a few miles of the city are many lakes-
-and the Looking Glass River.